Euro Pierres

Laying techniques >

General

When you choose a natural stone surface, you need to take into consideration its purpose. Will it be a patio, or a driveway? It goes without saying that the paving will be thinner for a patio than for a driveway. In general, we advise that you lay paving stones that are 1.2  inches (3 cm) thick. If no cars pass over or park on the area, stones that are 0.8  inches (2 cm) thick will suffice (depending on the type of stone). Shale paving can even be thinner (from 0.4 to 0.6 inches (1 cm to 1.5 cm)).

Each garden has its own character.

A square patio will be defined by the lines of the garden. Against the rear wall of the house, against a hedge or any other separating structure, or in a central place in the garden. As the length and width are equal, a square patio will not affect the layout of the garden.

Diagonally-laid stones give the impression that the garden is bigger.

The ideal patio should be flat so that tables and chairs do not tip over.However, it must be neither slippery nor too rough, so as not to hurt children if they fall.

Patio dimensions depend on their use. In general, the dimensions should be large enough for normal use, which means about 27 ft² (2.5 m²) per seated person, enough space for people to pass through and of course space for garden furniture.

Depending on the layout, a rectangular patio can create the impression of being longer and wider. This can be accentuated if you take into account the surrounding footpaths.To give a wider impression, pave your patio using the same width of stones as the footpath surface. The outdoor surface can also be in a contrasting color. If you want your patio to seem longer, align the stones parallel to the footpath.

Width of a driveway

The average width of a car is 5.25 feet (1.6 m), so a driveway measuring 8.2 feet (2.5 m) may be sufficient. This measurement is equal to a standard parking space. However a width of 11 to 11.5 feet (3.3 to 3.5 m) is not excessive if you want to unload your car with the doors open!

Please take care to pave your patio level with your house wall and under the level of stagnant water.

Stagnant water is stone's greatest enemy.Therefore you should ensure that good foundations are planned from the outset. A permeable foundation will ensure that your paving is protected. In addition, a slight incline will allow water to run off more easily. You can use a slope of 0.4 to 0.8 inches per yard (1 to 2 cm per meter). Of course, ensure that this slope is towards the garden and not the house! When laying the paving, never place the stones right against wall. It is advisable to use expansion joints.

Natural stone will expand in the sun and contract when cold. If you forget to use expansion joints, repeated heating/cooling could cause the stone to crack. Therefore you should always use such a joint between the patio and the wall, preferably flexible and waterproof (e.g. frost-resistant kit or profile).

Also make you sure you respect all the rules concerning expansion joints for large patios:

  • Expansion joints using stabilized sand are indispensable for:
    • Darker colors in the sun: patio larger than 375 ft² (35 m²) or more than 16.5 feet (5 m) long
    • Lighter colors in the sun: patio larger 375 ft² (35 m²) or more than 20 feet (6 m) long
    • Darker colors in the shade: patio larger 375 ft² (35 m²) or more than 26 feet (8 m) long
    • Lighter colors in the shade: patio larger 375 ft² (35 m²) or more than 33 feet (10 m) long
  • Never place paving stones directly against each other. Regarding the joints, you can use a very fine joint (0.15 to 0.2 inches, i.e. 4 to 5 mm) for smooth materials, such as blue stone. However not all natural stone materials are as uniform. Laying with joints 0.3 to 0.4 inches, (8 to 10 mm) wide will make the process faster.
  • Never lay a stone with a broken joint or allowing movement while fixed.
  • Avoid sliding stones over each other, otherwise they will scrape the surfaces.
  • When laying paving outside, remember that in addition to mechanical pressures, the most powerful forces exercised will be climatic. We are thinking particularly of the alternation of wet and dry periods common to our latitudes. Next to this, there are also the daily forces such as pedestrians and traffic which also exercise their own influence on the paved surface.

1. Laying a draining concrete foundation.

For a patio, the foundation must be laid under the frost line, approximately 15.75 inches (40 cm) under the top surface.

  • Draining concrete foundation - approximately 8 to 12  inches (20 to 30 cm) deep, dry and tamped down
  • Rough concrete - approximately 6 inches (15 cm) (composition: 150 kg cement per m² of 8/22 or 10/22 aggregates)
  • Bed of stabilized sand - approximately 2 inches (5 cm) thick (composition: Rhine sand 0/5 or 0/7 cm mixed with slightly dampened, lump-free white cement; proportion: 9 parts sand to one part cement).
  • Fixing mortar max. 1.2 inches (3 cm) thick. The stones will be laid on a layer of mortar (composition: white sand 0/2 mm mixed with white cement; proportion: 4 parts sand to one part cement).
  • Tiling

Draining concrete foundation

2. Laying on a concrete foundation

Avoid this laying method because concrete retains stagnant water and will make the patio subject to frost damage. Also, concrete has a high adherence rate, which in the long term may provoke fissures in the tiling.
If however you have an under-layer of concrete, follow these recommendations:
Apply a draining underlay on the concrete (e.g. Trauba or Schlüter). Then lay a reinforced foundation at least 2 inches (5 cm) thick. Leave this foundation to dry out completely (approximately 28 days). Then lay the tiles using suitable fixing products and calibrate the tiles on the foundation. The major advantage of this method is that the patio does not come into contact with the concrete and can therefore react differently to climatic fluctuations.

Laying tiles on a concrete foundation

3. Laying on a support

This method is mostly used to lay tiles on a balcony or for roof-top patios. Nevertheless, it can be used to lay a patio on the ground as long as no vehicles are driven over it. Caution! For this type of tiling technique, the tiles must be at least 1.6 inches (4 cm) thick, no matter the type of material. The foundation must be uniformly level. If this is not the case it can be corrected with roofing. The supports will define the width of the open joints.

4. Laying on mortar bags

Method used in the same cases as normal laying. You can determine the width of the joints yourself 0.15 to 0.2 inches (4 to 5 mm). By using small plastic crosses between the tiles, you can ensure that the joint width remains the same. As long as the mortar has not hardened in the bags, you can lay and move tiles.

 

Tips from a PRO

Order your tiles in one batch. Tiles from different production runs can show slight color differences.

To ensure your tiled surface is harmonious, we recommend that you mix tiles from different pallets.

Example

Patio laying technique

Patio laying technique


  1. Site map
  2. Partners
  3. Credits
  4. Contact

EURO PIERRES
Mont du moulin 30750 Lanuejols FRANCE.

Euro Pierres

Techniques de pose >

Généralités

Quand vous choisissez un revêtement extérieur en pierres naturelles, vous devez tenir compte de l'utilisation finale de celui ci. Sera-ce une terrasse ou une montée de garage ? Il va de soi que le carrelage sera plus mince pour la première possibilité que la deuxième. Généralement nous conseillons de poser des dalles d'une épaisseur de 3 cm. S'il n'y a aucun passage de voiture des dalles de 2 cm suffiront (suivant la sorte de pierre). Les schistes peuvent même être plus minces encore(variant de 1 à 1,5 cm).

Chaque jardin a son propre caractère.

Une terrasse carrée sera délimitée par des lignes de jardin. Contre la façade arrière de la maison, contre une haie ou toute autre séparation ou à une place centrale du jardin. Comme la largeur et la longueur sont égales, la terrasse carrée n'influencera pas la disposition du jardin.

Des dalles posées diagonalement donnent l'impression d'avoir un jardin plus grand.

La terrasse idéale devra être plate afin que les chaises et les tables ne vacillent pas. Par contre, la terrasse ne devra être ni glissante ni posséder une surface trop rugueuse afin de protéger les enfants lors de chutes éventuelles.

Les dimensions des terrasses dépendent de leur utilisation. En général, nous pouvons dire qu'elles doivent être assez grandes pour l'usage courant - ce qui revient à dire 2,5m² par personne assise + un espace pour le passage de personnes en mouvement et évidement une place pour le salon de jardin.

Avec une terrasse rectangulaire, vous pouvez donner un aspect plus large mais aussi plus long. Ce phénomène sera accentué si on tient compte de l'agencement des trottoirs. Pour donner une apparence plus large, carreler sa terrasse avec des largeurs égales au revêtement des trottoirs. Le revêtement extérieur pourrait aussi être de couleur contrasté. Si la terrasse doit sembler plus longue, on alignera celle ci en parallèle du trottoir.

La largeur d'une montée de garage

La largeur moyenne d'une voiture est de 1,6m donc une montée de garage de 2m50 peut sembler suffisante. Cette mesure est égale à une place normale de parking. Cependant une largeur de 3.3 à 3,5m n'est pas forcement superflue si on veut décharge sa voiture le portières ouvertes !

Veuillez attacher de l'attention à carreler votre terrasse à hauteur de votre façade et sous le niveau des eaux stagnantes.

Les eaux stagnantes sont les grandes ennemies des pierres. C'est pourquoi il faut penser dès le début à un bon drainage des fondations. Une chape perméable est un atout non négligeable.. De plus, une légère inclinaison permettra à l'eau de s'écouler plus facilement. Vous pouvez vous baser sur une inclinaison de 1 à 2 cm par mètre. Veillez bien sûr, à ce que cette inclinaison soit vers le jardin et non vers la maison!. Lors de la pose ne placer jamais les dalles contre la façade mais prévoyez plutôt des joints de dilatation.

La pierre naturelle va se dilater par période ensoleillée et se compresser par temps plus froid. Si on oublie le joint de dilatation, ce phénomène ne pourra se produire normalement et les dalles se fissureront. Prévoyez donc toujours un tel joint entre la terrasse et la façade - de préférence un joint souple et imperméable (genre kit ingélif ou profile).

Suivez également toutes les règles suivantes concernant les joints de dilatation pour grandes terrasses :

  • Des joints de dilatation au travers du sable stabilisé sont indispensables pour :
    • Teintes plus foncées au soleil : terrasse supérieur à 35 m ou d'une longueur de plus de 5 m
    • Teintes plus claires au soleil : terrasse supérieur à 35 m ou d'une longueur de plus de 6 m
    • Teintes plus foncées à l'ombre : terrasse supérieur à 35 m ou d'une longueur de plus de 8 m
    • Teintes plus claires à l'ombre : terrasse supérieur à 35 m ou d'une longueur de plus de 10 m .
  • Ne placer jamais les dalles les unes contre les autres. Concernant le rejointement, on peut se baser sur un joint très fin (4 à 5 mm) pour les matériaux lisses, comme la pierre bleue par exemple. Cependant toutes les pierres naturelles ne sont pas aussi uniformes. La pose avec des joints de 8 à 10 mm augmentera la rapidité du rejointement.
  • Ne posez jamais une dalle avec un joint éclaté ou à mobilité encollée.
  • Ne faites pas glisser les dalles les unes sur les autres afin d'éviter la formation des crasses.
  • En cas de pose de pierres naturelles à l'extérieur, ne perdez pas de vue que, en plus des tensions mécaniques, les tensions des forces les plus importantes seront dues au climat. Nous pensons particulièrement aux alternances de temps humides et secs caractéristiques de nos latitudes. À côté de ceci, nous avons également les tensions journalières comme les piétons, la circulation … qui ont aussi leur influence sur le revêtement.

1. Pose sur une chape en béton drainant

Pour une terrasse, la fondation doit être posée sous la ligne de gel, environ 40 cm sous le pas du revêtement.

  • Fondation drainante en béton, bien sèche et dammée d'environ 20 à 30 cm
  • Béton granuleux d'environ 15 cm (composition : 150 kg de ciment par m2 de granulats 8/22 ou 10/22)
  • Lit de sable stabilisé d'environ 5 cm (composition : sable du Rhin 0/5 ou 0/7 cm mélangé à du ciment blanc, légèrement humide et sans grumeaux ; proportion : 9 parts de sable pour une part de ciment).
  • Mortier de pose de maximum 3cm. Les dalles seront posées à plein bain de mortier (composition : sable blanc 0/2 mm mélangé avec du ciment blanc ; proportion : 4 parts de sable pour une part de ciment).
  • Carrelage

Chape béton drainant

2. Pose sur une chape en béton

Évitez cette méthode de pose car le béton maintient l'eau stagnante et donc facilitera le gel de la terrasse. De plus le béton à un haut taux d'attache ce qui provoquera à long terme des fissures dans le dallage.
Si vous avez quand même une sous couche de béton, veuillez suivre les prescriptions suivantes :
Sur le béton, appliquez un tapis de drainage (p ex. un tapis Trauba ou Schlüter). Ensuite vous y posez une chape armée d'une épaisseur minimale de 5 cm ; Laissez sécher cette chape suffisamment (environ 28 jours). Ensuite coller les dalles avec les produits adéquats et les dalles calibrées sur la chape. Le gros avantage de cette méthode est que la terrasse n'est pas en contact avec le béton et pourra donc réagir différemment suite aux fluctuations climatiques.

Pose de dallage sur chape béton

3. PoSe sur plots

Cette méthode est surtout utilisée pour la pose sur balcon ou terrasse sur toit. Néanmoins, on peut aussi l'utiliser pour la pose de terrasse au rez de chaussée si aucune auto ne roule dessus. Attention : pour ce genre de pose, les dalles devront avoir une épaisseur minimale ! surtout pas plus mince que 4 cm indépendamment de la sortie du matériau. La chape doit être bien uniforme. Si celle ci ne l'est pas on peut la corriger avec du roofing. Les plots définiront la largeur des joints ouverts.

4. Pose sur sacs de mortier

Méthode utilisé dans les même cas que pour la pose. Vous déterminer vous même la largeur des joints (4 à 5 mm). De part l'utilisation de petite croix en plastique, vous pourrez garder toujours la même largeur de joints. Aussi longtemps que le mortier ne durcit pas dans les sacs, vous pouvez poser les dalles.

 

Astuces de PRO

Commandez vos dalles en une fois. Des dalles Issues de différents lots peuvent avoir des nuances de teintes.

Pour avoir une répartition harmonieuse de votre revêtement, nous conseillons de mélanger des dalles venant de différents palettes.

Exemple de réalisation

Terrasse technique pose

Terrasse technique pose


  1. Plan du site
  2. Partenaires
  3. Credits
  4. Contact
EURO PIERRES
Mont du moulin 30750 Lanuejols